Skip to content

First-Year Students

All PhD students admitted to the Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program who remain in good academic standing will  receive financial support including a fellowship / living stipend ($29,714 for the 2021-2022 academic year, expected to rise to $30,309 for 2022-2023), tuition waiver through the Tuition Benefit Program, and health insurance throughout their graduate training.

 

 

COVID-19 Information

COVID-10 Central @THEU

  LEARN MORE
Information for Graduate and Professional Students

 LEARN MORE
Guidance Documents & Forms

  LEARN MORE

 

Calendar and Schedules

Fall 2021 Classes

1st Half Monday, August 23 - Friday, October 8
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Fall Break Monday, October 11 - Friday, October 15
   
2nd Half Monday, October 18 - Thursday, December 9
Thanksgiving Break Thursday, November 25 - Friday, November 26
Final Exam Week Monday, December 13 - Friday, December 17
Holiday Recess Monday, December 20 - Friday, January 7

 

Spring 2022 Classes

1st Half Monday, January 10 - Monday, February 28
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 17
Presidents Day Monday, February 21
   
2nd Half Tuesday, March 1 - Tuesday, April 26
Spring Break Monday, March 7 - Friday, March 11
Final Exam Week (Oral Capstone Presentations) Thursday, April 28 - Wednesday, May 4

 

Curriculum Page | Academic Calendar 2021-2022

Fall 2021 Lab Rotations

First Rotation Monday, August 30 - Friday, October 22
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, October 29
Rotation Report Due: Friday, October 29
   
Second Rotation Monday, October 25 - Thursday, December 9
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, December 17
Rotation Report Due: Friday, December 17

 

Spring 2022 Lab Rotations

Third Rotation Monday, January 10 - Friday, March 4
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, March 18
Rotation Report Due: Friday, March 18
Verbal Lab Commitments Can Begin Monday, March 7
Student Join Thesis Lab & Department May

 

2021-2022 Lab Rotation Schedule Succeeding in Lab Rotations | Rotation Verification Form   

 

Health Insurance Information

2021-22 Providers are listed below

Check out the Graduate Website for additional details: https://gradschool.utah.edu/tbp/insurance-information/ 

For specific benefits inquiries, please contact the individual insurance providers

Health Insurance

U of U Student Injury and Sickness Insurance Plan

Provider United Healthcare

https://studenthealth.utah.edu/

https://www.uhcsr.com/

Coverage is from 8/16/21 - 8/15/22

2021-22 Student Insurance Plan.pdf

Emotional-Support Help Line with Student Health Insurance

Optum is opening its Emotional-Support Help Line, providing access to specially trained mental health specialists to support people who may be experiencing anxiety or stress following the recent developments around COVID-19. Optum’s toll-free help line number, 866-342-6892, will be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, for as long as necessary. The service is free of charge and open to anyone. 

Covid-19 and Health Coverage

Access to Medical Care, Coverage

Members who feel like they may have been exposed to COVID-19 are being advised to immediately call their provider (The Student Health Center respectfully asks that before traveling to the clinic for symptoms such as high fever, cough, or shortness of breath, please contact them first at 801-581-6431). To find a network provider, visit www.uhcsr.com/MyAccount or their UHCSR mobile app.

https://www.uhcsr.com/news-main

https://www.uhcsr.com/faqs

UHCSR has waived the customary referral requirement for COVID-19 tests and/or treatment. Please call providers before visiting – not all healthcare providers are currently able to test for COVID-19, and in cases where they do have the capability, it is important to follow their protocol for visiting any healthcare facility. Please consider using virtual visit options first (see below).

Additional Support

We are encouraging students to take advantage of the Virtual Visit* capability, available through the HealthiestYou mobile app, or for more information through your www.uhcsr.com/MyAccount. UHCSR insureds have access at no charge, Uninsured students can also access this service for a $40 fee. HealthiestYou FAQ

 

Dental/Vision

U of U Student Dental/Vision Insurance Plan

Provider EMI Health

https://emihealth.com/groupplans/refid/uvoluntary

Coverage is from 8/16/21 - 8/15/22 

              2021-22 Student Dental/Vision Plan.pdf

EMI Login Information

 

Resources and other Offices at the University of Utah

 

 

Last Updated: 8/25/21