Skip to content

Main Navigation

Departments

The Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program are two complementary interdepartmental graduate programs at the University of Utah.

At the end of their first year of graduate school students will choose thesis advisors by mutual agreement and will automatically be admitted to the Ph.D. degree program of the advisor's department.

NUIP

Department of Nutrition and Integrative Physiology (NUIP)

College of Health

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Scott Summers

Director of Graduate Studies:

Thunder Jalili

thunder.jalili@utah.edu

Department Contact:

Carisse Winegar

carisse.winegar@utah.edu

801-581-6730, HPER North, Room 214

Human Genetics

Human Genetics

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Lynn Jorde

Director of Graduate Studies:

Mark Metzstein

markm@genetics.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Kandace Leavitt

kandacel@genetics.utah.edu

801-585-0462, 5100 EIHG

Oncological Sciences

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Brad Cairns

Director of Graduate Studies:

Bryan Welm

bryan.welm@hci.utah.edu

Department Contacts:

Whitney Reid, Graduate Coordinator

801-213-6225

whitney.reid@hci.utah.edu

Dee DalPonte, Office Manager

dee.dalponte@hci.utah.edu

801-585-7774, HCI 4345

bio

School of Biological Sciences

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Co-Chairs:

Neil Vickers and Leslie Sieburth

Director of Graduate Studies:

Richard Clark

clark@biology.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Shannon Nielsen

shannon.nielsen@bioscience.utah.edu

801-581-5636, 201A BIOL

Medicinal Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Darrell Davis

Director of Graduate Studies:

Phillip Moos

philip.moos@pharm.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Terri Elder-Hale

terri.elder-hale@pharm.utah.edu

801-581-5581, 307 Skaggs Hall

M&I

Microbiology and Immunology

Division of the Department of Pathology

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair: Peter Jensen

Division Head: Brian Evavold

Director of Graduate Studies:

David Stillman

david.stillman@path.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Kim Springer

kim.springer@path.utah.edu

801-213-3717, 1100 EEJMRB

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Wes Sundquist

Director of Graduate Studies:

Adam Hughes

hughes@biochem.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Amity Mower

amity.mower@biochem.utah.edu

801-585-2555, 4100 EEJMRB

Chemistry

Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Matt Sigman

Director of Graduate Studies:

Ilya Zharov 

i.zharov@utah.edu

Department Contact:

Jolanda Vallejo

jvallejo@chem.utah.edu

801-581-4393, 2504 HEB

N&A

Neurobiology and Anatomy

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Monica Vetter

Director of Graduate Studies:

Richard Dorsky

richard.dorsky@neuro.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Nicole Caldwell

nicole.caldwell@utah.edu

801 581-3653, 320 BPRB

PharmChem

Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Hamid Ghandehari 

Director of Graduate Studies:

James Herron

james.herron@utah.edu

Department Contact:

Dalynn Berglund

dalynn.berglund@utah.edu

801-585-0070, 301 Skaggs Hall

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Karen Wilcox

Director of Graduate Studies:

Phillip Moos

philip.moos@pharm.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Linda Wright

linda.wright@utah.edu

801-581-6287, 201 Skaggs Hall
Last Updated: 7/10/20